Archived News

Ready to Begin: Commencement 2012

June 15, 2012

What's New Image

Dean Michael Lairmore and Chancellor Linda P. B. Katehi congratulate one of the 129 members of the Class of 2012.

June 15, 2012

Officially ready to enter the profession, 129 graduates of UC Davis School of Veterinary Medicine received Doctor of Veterinary Medicine degrees conferred by UC Davis Chancellor Linda P.B. Katehi today in the Robert & Margrit Mondavi Center for the Performing Arts.

At commencement, the school also recognized 15 candidates for the Master of Preventive Veterinary Medicine degree. The year 2012 marks the 45th anniversary of the Master of Preventive Veterinary Medicine degree program, which pioneered the teaching and use of epidemiology to investigate and evaluate disease and production problems in animal populations and to design, evaluate and implement disease control or other veterinary services programs.

The faculty recognized 37 veterinarians who completed residencies at the William R. Pritchard Veterinary Medical Teaching Hospital, which runs what may be the world's largest program of training for veterinary specialists.

In a departure from tradition, this year two individuals tied for the honor of the School of Veterinary Medicine Medal. This honor recognizes a student for demonstrating the highest level of academic achievement and clinical performance throughout the four-year program. In announcing that two medals would be awarded, Executive Associate Dean John Pascoe stated that both medalists are highly regarded by clinicians, faculty, residents and – equally important – by classmates. The recipients are Jacqueline Tanner and Casey Kohen.

Student speakers Casey Kohen and Alyse Zacuto shared memories and hopes with their classmates.

The faculty speaker, selected by the students, was veterinary neurologist Richard LeCouteur, who offered (a few) words of advice mixed with (much) humor as a send-off to his former students. 

The school also acknowledged five Alumni Achievement Award recipients (See related story) and thanked retiring faculty members Tim E. Carpenter, Ian Gardner, Peter J. Ihrke, Mark D. Kittleson, Donald J. Klingborg and Linda Lowenstine (See related story) for their contributions to science and commitment to veterinary education.   

Among the honored guests were Jeffery C. Gibeling, dean of Graduate Studies; Don Roth, executive director of the Mondavi Center; and Steven Drown, campus counsel. 

Jay Kerr, DVM 1977, president of the California Veterinary Medical Association, led the graduates as they took their veterinary oath for the first time.