Meet the Staff

Director

Carrie Finno

Carrie J. Finno, DVM, Ph.D., Diplomate ACVIM (LA)

Dr. Carrie Finno is an equine internist who received her DVM from the University of Minnesota (UMN) in 2004. She completed an internship in large animal medicine and surgery at UMN in 2005 and then went on to complete a three-year residency in large animal internal medicine at the UC Davis, culminating in board-certification in the American College of Veterinary Internal Medicine. Dr. Finno elected to pursue a career in equine genetic research, with a strong focus on neuromuscular disease, and obtained her Ph.D. in 2012 from UC Davis. In addition to her role as Director at Center for Equine Health, Dr. Finno is an assistant professor in the Department of Population Health and Reproduction.

(530) 752-2739
cjfinno@ucdavis.edu

Administrative Staff

Kaylie Kingston

Kaylie Kingston

Management Services Officer
(530) 752-7572
kjkingston@ucdavis.edu

Jaclyn Urzua

Equine Control Coordinator

Jaclyn R Urzua
jrurzua@ucdavis.edu
(530) 752-6433

Animal Care Staff

Tatiana Viau

Tatiana Viau, DVM

Animal Resource Manager
(530) 752-2073
tlviau@ucdavis.edu

Ashley York

Ashley York

Animal Health Technician
(530) 752-6433
aeyork@ucdavis.edu

Photo of Jennifer Struble

Jennifer Struble

Animal Health Technician II
(530) 752-6433
jastruble@ucdavis.edu

Photo of Dawne Roper

Dawne Roper

Animal Health Technician II
(530) 752-6433
dmroper@ucdavis.edu

Photo of Kaci Hume

Kaci Hume

Animal Health Technician II
(530) 752-6433
kjhume@ucdavis.edu

Emeriti Directors

Claudia Sonder, DVM

Claudia Sonder

Claudia Sonder, DVM graduated from the UC Davis School of Veterinary Medicine and was an equine practitioner in Napa, CA, for a number of years before returning to UC Davis in her new role. Dr. Sonder serves as a liaison between the School and the equine industry, including participating with government and nongovernment organizations and individuals in providing scientific and educational resources to solve industry problems.

CEH Animal Technicians

Our wonderful crew, consisting of Jose Cabrera, JJ Cisneros, Guillermo Gamez, Sergio Lopez-Arreola, Devin Roberts, and Oscar Quezada, work hard to keep our stalls, barns and grounds clean and neat and our horses well fed.

Photo of CEH grounds crew