GGE Faculty and Staff

Program Coordinator: Tami Ali

GGE Chair

Dr. Philip Kass

GGE Executive Committee

Dr. Philip KassDr. Diana CassadyDr. Chris Kreuder Johnson, Dr. Daniel Tancredi

GGE Administrative Committees

Admissions and Awards: Drs. Michael Ziccardi*, Christiana DrakeJanet Foley, Lorena Garcia, Mark Schenker
Graduate Advisors: Drs. Janet Foley*, Lynette Hart, Dr. Diana Cassady and Lihong Qi
Educational Policy: Drs. Philip Kass*, Heejun BangLaurel BeckettJanet Foley, Ellen GoldIrva Hertz-PicciottoAna-Maria Iosif, and Chin-Shang Li
Membership: Dr. Richard Kravitz*, Rob AtwillStephen McCurdy,
Recruitment: Dr. Bruno Chomel*
Seminar: Drs. Woutrina Smith, Brad Pollock
Written Exam: Drs. Chin-Shang Li, Brad Pollock, and Woutrina Smith

*Committee Chair

Graduate Advisors

Dr. Janet Foley
Medicine and Epidemiology
School of Veterinary Medicine

Dr. Diana Cassady
Department of Public Health Science
School of Medicine

Dr. Lynette Hart
Population Health and Reproduction
School of Veterinary Medicine

Dr. Lihong Qi
Department of Public Health Science
Division of Biostatistics
School of Medicine


Faculty Names, Departments, and Areas of Interest - Alphabetic


Aly
, Sharif – DVM, MPVM, PhD
Department of Population Health and Reproduction
Research Interest: Dairy cattle infectious disease epidemiology.
E-mail: saly@ucdavis.edu

Anderson, Nicholas R. – PhD
Clinical and Translational Science Center
Research Interest: Effective uses of biomedical data, information and knowledge for scientific inquiry, problem solving and decision making
E-mail: nanderson@ucdavis.edu 

Atwill, E. Robert – DVM, MPVM, PhD
Department of Population Health and Reproduction
Research Interest: Epidemiology and medical ecology of infectious 
disease transmitted between livestock, wildlife and humans.
E-mail: ratwill@vmtrc.ucdavis.edu

Azari, Rahman – MPh, PhD
Department of Statistics
Research Interest: Categorical, time series and spatial analysis in medical
and biological sciences. 
E-mail: asazari@ucdavis.edu

Bang, Heejung - PhD
Department of Public Health Sciences
Research Interest: Medical cost and cost-effectiveness analysis, disease prediction/screening modeling, clinical trials and observational studies.
E-mail: hbang@ucdavis.edu

Barker, Christopher – PhD 
Center for Vectorborne Diseases
Research Interest: Climate and landscape factors driving mosquito-borne virus transmission, systems for control of arboviruses, transmission risk and pathogen transmission. 
E-mail: cmbarker@ucdavis.edu

Beckett, Laurel – PhD 
Department of Public Health Sciences
Research Interest: Statistical methods for longitudinal and population-based
studies and translational research in basic sciences and clinical medicine. 
E-mail: labeckett@ucdavis.edu

Bennett, Deborah – PhD
Department of Public Health Sciences
Research Interest: Fate, transport and exposure to chemicals within context
of environmental risk assessment. 
E-mail: dhbennett@ucdavis.edu

Cassady, Diana – DrPh
Department of Public Health Sciences
Research Interest: Primary prevention of chronic disease, diet and physical
activity, social marketing, reducing health disparities, environmental strategies
to promote health. 
E-mail: dlcassady@ucdavis.edu

Carvajal-Carmona, Luis – PhD
Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Medicine
Research Interest: Human and cancer genetics, human genomics
http://carvajal.genomecenter.ucdavis.edu 
E-mail: lgcarvajal@ucdavis.edu

Cerda, Magdalena - DrPh, MPHDepartment of Emergency Medicine
Research Interest: epidemiology, community health, violence prevention
E-mail: cerda@ucdavis.edu

Chigerwe, Munashe – BVSC, MPH, PhD
Department of Medicine and Epidemiology
Research Interest: Food animal production medicine, passive transfer of 
immunity in calves. 
E-mail: mchigerwe@ucdavis.edu

Chomel, Bruno – DVM, PhD
Department of Population Health and Reproduction
Research Interest: Epidemiology of zoonoses, wildlife epidemiology and
tropical medicine. 
E-mail: bbchomel@ucdavis.edu

Conrad, Patricia – DVM, PhD
Department of Pathology, Microbiology, and Immunology
Research Interest: Molecular characterization of protozoal pathogens of
animals and humans. 
E-mail: paconrad@ucdavis.edu

Crossley, Beate – DVM, MPVM, PhD
Department of Virology & Biotechnology California Animal Health and Food Safety Laboratory
Research Interest: Mammalian virology, food animal emphasis. 
E-mail: bcrossle@cahfs.ucdavis.edu

Cress, Rosemary – DrPH, MPH
Department of Public Health Sciences
Research Interest: Cancer epidemiology, ovarian and colorectal cancer, quality
of cancer care, health disparities. 
E-mail:rdcress@ucdavis.edu

Dalrymple, Lorien – MD, MPH
Department of Internal Medicine
Research Interest: Complications of chronic kidney disease such as infection,
inflammation and cardiovascular disease. 
E-mail:lorien.dalrymple@ucdmc.ucdavis.edu

De la Torre, Adela
Chicana and Chicano Studies
Research Interest: Health issues, childhood obesity within rural Mexican origin communities,
binational health, and science educational disparities and interventions for Chicana/o Latino students.
Email: adelatorre@ucdavis.edu

Dewey, Kathryn – PhD
Department of Nutrition
Research Interest: Community and international nutrition with emphasis on
maternal and child nutrition. 
E-mail: kgdewey@ucdavis.edu 

Dharmar, Madan – M.B.B.S., Ph.D.
Department of Pediatrics at the UC Davis School of Medicine
Research Interest: Development of quality measures to evaluate health care and apply innovative technologies to improve health-care delivery. 
E-mail:mdharmar@ucdavis.edu

Drake, Christiana – PhD
Department of Statistics
Research Interest: Causal inference in observational studies, statistical analysis with missing data.
E-mail: cmdrake@ucdavis.edu

Ducore, Jonathan – MD
Department of Pediatrics
Research Interest: Cancer epidemiology, clinical trials for pediatric cancer
hemophilia, and sickle cell disease. 
E-mail: jmducore@ucdavis.edu

Engle-Stone, Reina- PhD
Department of Nutrition
Research Interest: Global Public Health Nutrition
E-mail:renglestone@ucdavis.edu

Foley, Janet – PhD, DVM, MS
Department of Medicine and Epidemiology
Research Interest: Epidemiology of vectorborne disease, simulation and
analytic modeling of infectious disease persistence and emergence in nature. 
E-mail: jefoley@ucdavis.edu

Garcia, Lorena – MPH, DrPH
Department of Public Health Sciences 
Research Interest: Health disparities, especially in obesity and diabetes,
intimate partner violence, immigration health and acculturation.
E-mail: lgarcia@phs.ucdavis.edu

Gold, Ellen – PhD
Department of Public Health Sciences
Research Interest: Reproductive and cancer epidemiology, particularly lifestyle and environmental/occupational factors related to reproductive endocrine function, including during the menopausal transition, and disorders.
E-mail: ebgold@ucdavis.edu

Hart, Lynette – PhD, MS
Department of Population Health and Reproduction
Research Interest:Socializing role and health and lifestyle effects of companion animals.
E-mail: lahart@ucdavis.edu

Harvey, Danielle – PhD
Department of Public Health Sciences
Research Interest: Survival analysis, correlated event times, informative censoring, repeated measures, computational methods, high dimensional data such as MRI and PET. 
E-mail: djharvey@ucdavis.edu

Hertz-Picciotto, Irva – PhD
Department of Public Health Sciences
Research Interest: Environmental epidemiology; causal methods applied to the art of epidemiologic analysis; child neurodevelopment and autism.
E-mail: ihp@ucdavis.edu

Hill, Ashley – DVM, MPVM, PhD
California Animal Health and Food Safety Laboratory
Research Interest: Clinical immunology, interpretation of livestock and poultry serology, diagnostic test evaluation and validation. 
E-mail: aehill@ucdavis.edu 

Hirsch, Calvin – MD
Department of Internal Medicine
Research Interest: Benefits of exercise among older persons, health and diseases of aging. 
E-mail: chhirsch@ucdavis.edu

Hoch, Jeffrey S. - PhD
Department of Public Health Sciences
Center for Healthcare Policy and Research
Research Interest: Health services research related to cancer, mental health, and other health issues affecting poor and vulnerable populations.
E-mail: jshoch@ucdavis.edu

Iosif, Ana-Maria – PhD
Department of Public Health Sciences
Research Interest: Longitudinal and clustered data methods, application of statistics to psychiatry and biomedical sciences. 
E-mail: aiosif@ucdavis.edu

Jiang, Jiming – PhD
Department of Statistics
Research Interest: Mixed effects models, generalized linear models, model selection
E-mail: jiang.wald@ucdavis.edu

Johnson, Christine Kreuder – DVM, MPVM, PhD
Wildlife Health Center/One Health Institute
Research Interest: Ecosystem-level processes and emerging infectious disease in wildlife. 
E-mail: ckjohnson@ucdavis.edu

Kass, Philip – DVM, MPVM, MS, PhD
Department of Population Health and Reproduction
Research Interest: Non-experimental inference, epidemiologic methodology, analytical epidemiology of environmental hazards of animals and humans, companion animal epidemiology 
E-mail: phkass@ucdavis.edu

Keegan, Theresa - PhD, MS
Hematology and Oncology
Research Interest: cancer epidemiologist with primary research interests in studies of cancer surveillance, cancer outcomes and cancer survivorship.  She has worked extensively with population-based cancer registry data to understand patterns of cancer incidence, treatment and survival, and been involved with multiple studies examining patient experiences with cancer and patient-reported outcomes after cancer diagnosis.
E-mail: tkeegan@ucdavis.edu

Kravitz, Richard – MD, MSPH
Department of Internal Medicine
Research Interest: Causes and consequences of physician behavior. 
E-mail: rlkravitz@ucdavis.edu

La Merrill, Michele – MPH, PhD
Department of Environmental Toxicology
Research Interest: Developmental and genetic susceptibility to metabolic and endocrine disruption by persistent organic pollutant exposure in animal models and people. Reproductive and developmental toxicology, persistent organic pollutants, pesticides, endocrine disruption, metabolic syndrome, cardiovascular disease, breast cancer. 
E-mail: mlamerrill@ucdavis.edu

Leigh, J. Paul – PhD
Department of Public Health Sciences
Research Interest: Econometrics, health and labor economics. 
E-mail: pleigh@ucdavis.edu

Li, Chin-Shang – PhD
Department of Public Health Sciences
Research Interest: Lack-of-fit tests, cure models, semiparametric and nonparametric regression, generalized linear models, longitudinal data analysis, statistical methods for genetic data, large sample theory. 
E-mail: cssli@ucdavis.edu 

Marcin, James – MD, MPH
Department of Pediatrics
Research Interest: Public health issues in pediatric critical care medicine including quality of care and severity of illness. 
E-mail: jpmarcin@ucdavis.edu

Martinez Lopez, Beatriz – DVM, MPVM, PhD
Department of Medicine and Epidemiology
Research Interest: Development and application of epidemiological tools for supporting more cost-effective and risk-based surveillance and control strategies.
E-mail: beamartinezlopez@ucdavis.edu

Mazet, Jonna – DVM, MPVM, PhD
Wildlife Health Center/One Health Institute
Research Interest: Promotion of wellness at wildlife-human-domestic animal interface, disease ecology, role of health in recovery and conservation of endangered species. 
E-mail: jkmazet@ucdavis.edu

McCurdy, Stephen A. – MD, MPH
Department of Public Health Sciences
Research Interest: Epidemiologic and occupational hazards of farm and semiconductor workers, general occupational and environmental medicine, toxicology and effects of pesticides and heavy metals. 
E-mail: samccurdy@ucdavis.edu

McRoberts, Neil
Research Interest: Plant disease epidemiology, systems modeling and analysis, bio-economic analysis of plant diseases.
E-mail: mncroberts@ucdavis.edu

Melnikow, Joy – MD, MPH
Department of Family and Community Medicine
Research Interest: Cancer prevention, women's health, comparative effectiveness and cost-effectiveness, breast and cervical cancer. 
E-mail: jamelnikow@ucdavis.edu

Miglioretti, Diana L.- PhD
Department of Public Health Sciences
Research Interest: Multilevel and latent variable models, longitudinal and clustered data analysis, and the evaluation of screening and diagnostic tests. Collaborative research includes breast cancer screening and radiation exposure from medical imaging. 
E-mail: dmiglioretti@ucdavis.edu

Pereira, Richard - DVM, PhD
Livestock Herd Health and Reproduction Service
Research Interest: Emergence, persistence and transmission ecology of antimicrobial resistant and zoonotic bacteria in livestock, with the aim of developing effective and feasible interventions to reduce and prevent the spread of drug resistance.
E-mail: rvpereira@ucdavis.edu

Pires, Alda - DVM, MPVM, PhD
Department of Population Health and ReproductionResearch Interest:  Quantitative methods to identify strategies that improve animal health and control infectious diseases in livestock on small-scale farms. Interested in applying and developing epidemiological tools to monitor potential food safety hazards and identify strategies to reduce the dissemination of foodborne pathogens in pre-harvest small farm environments and the spread of infectious disease in the food supply. Also interested in integrating epidemiological methods such as temporal-spatial, molecular analysis and risk assessment in order to support risk-based surveillance and infectious disease control strategies, and the improvement of animal health and food safety.
E-mail:  apires@ucdavis.edu

Pollock, Brad - PhD, MPH
Department of Public Health Sciences
Research Interest: cancer epidemiology, cancer prevention and control, cancer care delivery research, clinical epidemiology, health informatics, clinical and translational research, clinical trials, injury epidemiology.
E-mail: bpollock@ucdavis.edu

Pusterla, Nicola, DrMedVet, MedVet
Department of Medicine and Epidemiology
Research Interest: Equine infectious diseases with an emphasis on molecular epidemiology
E-mail: npusterla@ucdavis.edu

Qi, Lihong – PhD
Department of Public Health Sciences 
Research Interest: Design and analysis of genetic association studies, survival analysis, modeling of missing data, measurement error.
E-mail: lhqi@ucdavis.edu 

Rocke, David – PhD
Department of Public Health Sciences
Research Interest: Bioinformatics, design and analysis of gene expression, proteomics, metabolomics, analysis of mass spectrometry and spectroscopy data, robust statistical methods. 
E-mail: dmrocke@ucdavis.edu

Romano, Patrick – MD, MPH
Department of Internal Medicine
Research Interest: Injury epidemiology, comparative evaluation of health outcomes, quality and effectiveness of health care, role of physicians and other professionals in optimizing health and safety of health care. 
E-mail: psromano@ucdavis.edu

Rowe, Joan – DVM, MPVM, PhD
Department of Population Health and Reproduction
Research Interest: Infectious diseases, reproductive epidemiology in cattle, sheep and goats. 
E-mail: jdrowe@ucdavis.edu

Schenker, Marc – MD, MPH
Department of Public Health Sciences
Research Interest: Environmental and occupational risk factors for respiratory disease and lung cancer, occupational and other health issues of migrant populations, health hazards of agricultural exposures, occupational reproductive hazards. 
E-mail: mbschenker@ucdavis.edu

Schmidt, Rebecca – PhD
Department of Public Health Sciences
Research Interest: Molecular epidemiology, gene by environment interaction in etiology of reproductive and child developmental outcomes, role of maternal nutrition in child neurodevelopment. 
E-mail: rjschmidt@ucdavis.edu

Shankar, Prabhu RV – MD, MS
Department of Public Health Sciences
Research Interest: Secondary use of Electronic
Health Record (EHR) data to advance clinical, translational and public health research

Email: rvpshankar@ucdavis.edu

Smith, Woutrina – DVM, MPVM, PhD
Wildlife Health Center/One Health Institute 
Research Interest: Zoonotic diseases at human/animal/environment interface. 
Email: wasmith@ucdavis.edu

Stewart, Christine – PhD
Department of Nutrition
Research Interest: Maternal and child nutrition in low-income settings. 
E-mail: cpstewart@ucdavis.edu

Tancredi, Daniel – PhD
Med: Center for Health Services Research
Research Interest: Effective study designs and analysis plans for observational and experimental studies, especially those involving analysis of correlated data.
E-mail: daniel.tancredi@ucdmc.ucdavis.edu

Teh, Swee – PhD
Department of Anatomy, Physiology and Cell Biology
Research Interest: Culture-native and non-native fishes, surrogate fish models and copepads for carcinogenics, endocrine-disrupting and toxicity testing. 
E-mail: sjteh@ucdavis.edu

Yoo, Byung-Kwang (BK) – MD, MS, PhD
Department of Public Health Sciences
Research Interest: Health economics, health policy, and health services research, including patient behavior model to choose prevention, health insurance, health workforce, long-term care, and international comparisons of health care systems..
E-mail: byoo@ucdavis.edu

Ziccardi, Michael – DVM, MPVM, PhD
Wildlife Health Center/One Health Institute
Research Interest: Rescue and treatment of birds and marine mammals affected by oil spills. 
E-mail: mhziccardi@ucdavis.edu