Current Faculty of GGIP A-L

Verena Affolter

Verena Affolter

Professor

vkaffolter@ucdavis.edu

Area of Research:

Dr. Affolter's research is in Dermatopathology/Immunopathology: Structure and function of the leukocytic components of the skin immune system; Histiocytic proliferative diseases in dogs and cats; Lymphocytic proliferative diseases of the skin; Immune-mediated skin diseases, including vasculitis; Ischemic dermatopathy in dogs; Progressive lymphedema and associated pastern dermatitis in draft horses.

Monica Aleman

Monica Aleman

Associate Professor

mraleman@ucdavis.edu

Area of Research:

TBA

Kyriacos A. Athanasiou

Kyriacos A. Athanasiou

Professor

athanasiou@ucdavis.edu

Area of Research:

Dr. Athanasiou’s research is to understand and enhance the healing processes of cartilage. Successful cartilage regeneration continues to be the most vexing problem in musculoskeletal medicine.

Danika Bannasch

Danika Bannasch

Professor

dlbannasch@ucdavis.edu

Area of Research:

The identification and characterization of naturally occurring large animal (equine and canine) models of human inherited diseases.

Chris Barker

Chris Barker

Assistant Adjunct Professor

cmbarker@ucdavis.edu

Area of Research:

Dr. Barkers research is in ecology and epidemiology of mosquitoborne viruses.

Peter Barry

Peter Barry

Professor

pabarry@ucdavis.edu

Area of Research:

Dr. Barry’s research involves infection of rhesus macaques with rhesus cytomegalovirus (RhCMV) as an in vivo system to investigate the mechanisms of HCMV persistence and pathogenesis. HCMV and RhCMV are members of the herpesvirus family of viruses with all members of this family sharing a common virion structure.

Nicole Baumgarth

Nicole Baumgarth

Professor

nbaumgarth@ucdavis.edu

Area of Research:

The Baumgarth Lab investigates the basic immunological mechanisms that regulate and control immunity to pathogens. We aim to reveal the signals that drive a protective B cell response and to determine how these responses might be disregulated by certain pathogens. We are interested also in understanding the development and the role and function of a small innate-like B cell subset, termed B-1 cells.

Andreas Baumler

Andreas Baumler

Professor

ajbaumler@ucdavis.edu

Area of Research:

The Baumler Lab investigates enteric pathogens, the host, and its gut microbiota, specifically host responses during gastroenteritis, typhoid fever pathogenesis, interactions between Salmonella, the host, and its microbiota, and changes in gut-associated microbial communities.

Charles Bevins

Charles Bevins

Professor

clbevins@ucdavis.edu

Area of Research:

Dr. Bevins research is in Innate immune responses; mucosal immunology; antimicrobial peptides.

Dori L Borjesson

Dori L. Borjesson

Professor

dlborjesson@ucdavis.edu

Area of Research:

Dr Borjesson a board-certified veterinary clinical pathologist who has a broad interest in the field of regenerative medicine (mesenchymal stem cells), inflammation, cell-microbe interactions and hematopoietic progenitor cells. Currently the laboratory is actively engaged in research on equine and canine mesenchymal stem cells (MSC).

Aaron Brault

Aaron Brault

Adjunct Associate Professor

acbrault@ucdavis.edu

Area of Research:

Molecular identification of arthropod infectivity and vertebrate pathogenesis determinants of arthropod-borne viruses

Robert Brosnan

Robert Brosnan

Professor

rjbrosnan@ucdavis.edu

Area of Research:

Mechanisms of anesthetic action, cardiopulmonary effects of anesthesia.

Barbara A Byrne

Barbara A Byrne

Professor

bbyrne@ucdavis.edu

Area of Research:

The Byrne laboratory focuses primarily on microbiological questions as they apply to clinical veterinary microbiology. Some research areas include: Evaluation of the marine health by detection of pathogens in marine mammals, their food sources, and the marine environment and appraisal of their connection with terrestrial sources.

Kermit Carraway

Kermit Carraway

Professor

klcarraway@ucdavis.edu

Area of Research:

The lab uses biochemical, cell biological, pharmacological and genetic methods to dissect the roles of growth factors, their receptors and modulator proteins in mammalian development and in tumor initiation and progression.

Hongwu Chen

Hongwu Chen

Professor

hwzchen@ucdavis.edu

Area of Research:

Dr. Chen's research includes molecular mechanisms of hormone signaling in control of cell growth and differentiation, role of steroid receptors such as estrogen receptors and androgen receptor and their associated cofactors (especially coactivators) in cancer. Chromatin Modifications and Remodeling Dr. Chen is also researching on chromatin modifications/ remodeling and protein acetylation in control of gene expression.

Xinbin Chen

Xinbin Chen

Professor

xbchen@ucdavis.edu

Area of Research:

Dr. Chen's research consist of the p53 family proteins are transcription factors and consist of p53, p63, and p73. Each member regulates a diverse array of both common and unique target genes. These target genes mediate various activities for the p53 family proteins, including the cell cycle control, apoptosis, differentiation, senescence, DNA repair, normal development and tumor suppression.

Simon R. Cherry

Simon R. Cherry

Professor

srcherry@ucdavis.edu

Area of Research:

Molecular imaging technology, particularly positron emission tomography, multi-modality imaging systems, gamma and x-ray detector technology,3-D image reconstruction and use of imaging techniques in phenotyping and drug development.

Bruno Chomel

Bruno Chomel

Professor

bbchomel@ucdavis.edu

Area of Research:

Dr. Chomel is a veterinary epidemiologist whose research is focused on the epidemiology of zoonotic diseases, especially Zoonoses transmitted by bites and scratches. Most of Dr. Chomel's recent work has focused on cat scratch disease in its feline reservoir and has expanded to wildlife infection by Bartonella as a potential source of animal and human infection.

Photo: Derek Cissell

Derek Cissell

Assistant Professor

ddcissell@ucdavis.edu

Area of Research:

The Cissell laboratory aims to improve the diagnosis and treatment of joint disorders by: (1) developing biomedical imaging techniques to detect early cartilage injury; (2) identifying relationships between imaging and tissue function; and (3) applying imaging for assessing cartilage repair. The lab is engaged in research characterizing temporomandibular joint disorders in animals and using magnetic resonance imaging to evaluate cartilage.

Lark L A Coffey

Lark L A Coffey

Assistant Professor

lcoffey@ucdavis.edu

Area of Research:

Dr. Coffey is a virologist whose research focuses on arthropod-borne virus ecology and evolution with a goal of understanding how arboviruses persist via continuous cycling, how they invade new areas, and how they cross-species to cause human and veterinary disease.

Patricia Ann Conrad

Patricia Ann Conrad

Professor

paconrad@ucdavis.edu

Area of Research:

One Health research approach to global human, animal (wild & domestic) and environmental health problems; Characterization, biology, pathogenesis and ecology of zoonotic protozoal parasites, particularly Neospora, Toxoplasma, Babesia and Sarcocystis spp. parasites.

Beate Crossley

Beate Crossley

Professor

bcrossley@ucdavis.edu

Area of Research:

Diagnostics of emerging viral infectious diseases.

James Cullor

James Cullor

Professor

jscullor@ucdavis.edu

Area of Research:

Animal health (mastitis, neonatal diseases, vaccines, novel antimicrobial compound development and testing), public health (antibiotic residue avoidance) , food safety (novel methods for controlling pathogens in milk), food defense (detection of and protection from agroterrorism/criminal activity on-farm), food security (developing/testing novel food processing methods), diagnostic assays, and new approaches to breakthrough management techniques for food supply enterprises.

Satya Dandekar

Satya Dandekar

Professor

sdandekar@ucdavis.edu

Area of Research:

Dr. Dandekar's research program is focused on the molecular pathogenesis of human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) and simian immunodeficiency virus (SIV) infections with special emphasis on gastrointestinal mucosal lymphoid tissue (GALT) as a major target organ of the viral infection and as a viral reservoir.

Wenbin Deng

Wenbin Deng

Associate Professor

wbdeng@ucdavis.edu

Area of Research:

Dr. Deng's laboratory conducts basic and translational neuroscience and stem cell research. Emphasis is on molecular mechanisms of neuronal and glial cell death, excitotoxic, oxidative and inflammatory forms of injury to the developing brain, stem cell biology, and regenerative medicine.

Peter J Dickinson

Peter Dickinson

Professor

pjdickinson@ucdavis.edu

Area of Research:

Dr. Dickinson research is in Neurooncology: Molecular genetic characterization of primary brain tumors; development of novel therapeuitc strategies for primary brain tumors.

Thomas Farver

Thomas Farver

Professor

tbfarver@ucdavis.edu

Area of Research:

Providing a thorough evaluation of the performance of non-iterative procedures for estimating the linear-by-linear measure of association for two-factor ordinal contingency tables using loglinear modeling.

Carrie Finno

Carrie Finno

Assistant Professor

cjfinno@ucdavis.edu

Area of Research:

Dr. Finno investigates the molecular basis for genetic diseases in the horse and other companion animals. One of the strong translational focuses of Dr. Finno's laboratory is to investigate the role of vitamin E in neurodegeneration using a well-established mouse model and a naturally-occurring model of neuroaxonal dystrophy (NAD) in the horse. Dr. Finno's research is funded by the NIH.

Janet Foley

Janet Foley

Professor

jefoley@ucdavis.edu

Area of Research:

Dr. Foley studies the ecology of infectious diseases. The main research investigates the natural history of Anaplasma phagocytophilum in humans, rodent reservoirs, other wildlife, and companion animals, as well as the ixodid tick vector. She is interested in the broad scope of the problem, from the process of disease induction to maintenance of the disease agent in nature, to modeling the population process. Other interests include plague and other rodent-associated vector-borne diseases.

Rodrigo A Gallardo

Rodrigo Gallardo

Professor

ragallardo@ucdavis.edu

Area of Research:

Dr. Gallardo research interests are in the area of the avian virology, specifically in RNA viruses and their capabilities of mutation, recombination and variation making them very difficult to control in productive settings. He enjoy's applying the information gathered in the laboratory by molecular or virological techniques in the field improving productive parameters and performance of poultry flocks.

Damian C Genetos

Damian Genetos

Assistant Professor

dgenetos@ucdavis.edu

Area of Research:

Dr. Genetos research focuses upon the skeletal system, its development, and the mechanisms whereby it adapts to changes in the local microenvironment.

Laurel Gershwin

Laurel Gershwin

Professor

ljgershwin@ucdavis.edu

Area of Research:

Dr. Gershwin research focuses on fIgE/allergic responses, bovine respiratory syncytial virus (BRSV) pathogenesis and effects of air pollutants (environmental tobacco smoke and ozone) on pulmonary allergic disease/asthma.

Paramita Ghosh

Paramita Ghosh

Professor

paghosh@ucdavis.edu

Area of Research:

Dr. Ghosh's current research concentrates on the study of signal transduction pathways involved in prostate cancer development and progression. This includes studies on the EGFR family of receptor tyrosine kinases, leading to the PI3K/Akt pathway and finally to the mTOR signaling pathway.

Ralph Green

Ralph Green

Professor

rgreen@ucdavis.edu

Area of Research:

Dr. Green is internationally recognized for his research, which focuses on studying how deprivation or metabolic disruption of B-complex vitamins, iron and other nutritional elements affects the blood, cardiovascular system, nervous system, and the aging process.

Fuzheng Guo

Fuzheng Guo

Professor

fzguo@ucdavis.edu

Area of Research:

The research interest in my laboratory has been focused on biology and pathology of glial cells (oligodendroglia, astroglia, microglia and ependymal cells) in the central nervous system development and disease using a combination of genetic, molecular, cellular and proteomic approaches applied to both in vitro and in vivo models.

Wolf-Dietrich Heyer

Wolf-Dietrich Heyer

Professor

wdheyer@ucdavis.edu

Area of Research:

Studies in the Heyer laboratory center on the mechanism and regulation of recombinational DNA repair, a central pathway to maintain genome stability with significance for cancer predisposition and anti-cancer therapy.

Kate Hopper

Kate Hopper

Associate Professor

khopper@ucdavis.edu

Area of Research:

Major research is in clinical acid-base and electrolyte disorders, cardiopulmonary resuscitation and mechanical ventilation.

Smita Iyer

Smita Iyer

Assistant Professor

smiyer@ucdavis.edu

Area of Research:

Our lab’s primary research interests center around delineating immunological and molecular mechanisms of CD4 T cell help. Our ultimate goal is to use this information to design an effective HIV vaccine and in parallel understand mechanisms of HIV susceptibility and pathogenesis.

Photo: Michael Austin Johnson

Michael Austin Johnson

Assistant Clinical Professor

ausjohnson@ucdavis.edu

Area of Research

Dr. Johnson studies novel techniques for resuscitation and critical care following trauma and traumatic brain injury. The laboratory utilizes a diverse set of techniques to study the optimization of critically ill trauma patients for prolonged transport prior to definitive care. The laboratory has an emphasis on developing novel endovascular devices and the automation of therapies but also utilizes traditional molecular and histologic techniques to study the pathophysiology of trauma and traumatic brain injury.

Amy Kapatkin

Amy Kapatkin

Professor

askapatkin@ucdavis.edu

Area of Research:

Dr. Kapatkin research focus is using gait parameters (EMG kinetic and kinematic analysis) to access if clinical outcomes are improved after surgery in orthopedic patients.

Kevin Keel

Kevin Keel

Professor

mkkeel@ucdavis.edu

Area of Research:

Dr. Keel's research focuses on emerging infectious diseases of wildlife promoted by anthropogenic factors. Specific issues investigated include: pathogenesis of white-nose syndrome and techniques to reduce mortality among bats; emerging diseases of white-tailed deer; and emerging infectious diseases of wild carnivores (canine distemper virus and parvoviruses).

Nicholas Kenyon

Nicholas Kenyon

Professor

njkenyon@ucdavis.edu

Area of Research:

Nicholas Kenyon, MD, MAS, is a physician-scientist with a research and clinical focus on adult severe asthma with an emphasis on asthma therapeutics and the role of nitric oxide in airway inflammation.

Imran H. Khan

Imran H. Khan

Professor

ihkhan@ucdavis.edu

Area of Research:

Dr. Khan’s research interests include studies on biomarkers for intracellular signaling pathways (cancer related) and infectious diseases. In the last several years he has worked on developing highly efficient, high-throughput multiplex approaches for studying proteomic and genetic biomarkers.

Amir Kol

Amir Kol

Assistant Professor

akol@ucdavis.edu

Area of Research:

Stem cell biology, Mesenchymal stem cells immunomodulatory mechanisms, naturally occurring inflammatory disease in companion animals

Gerald J. Kost

Gerald J. Kost

Professor

gjkost@ucdavis.edu

Area of Research:

Dr. Kost is the founding Director of the Point-of-Care Testing Center for Teaching and Research and one of the founding fathers of the field of point-of-care testing. Other interests include clinical pathology, clinical chemistry, and bioengineering.

Dean Michael Lairmore

Dean Michael Lairmore

Dean, School of Veterinary Medicine

mdlairmore@ucdavis.edu

Area of Research:

Prior to becoming Dean of the UC Davis School of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Lairmore researched the pathogenesis of retroviral diseases especially deltaretroviruses; bovine leukemia virus and human t-cell leukemia virus

Jian-Jian Li

Jian-Jian Li

Professor

jian-jian.li@ucdmc.ucdavis.edu

Area of Research:

Research interests include the study of the molecular mechanisms causing tumor resistance to radiation and chemotherapy.

K.C. Kent Lloyd,

K.C. Kent Lloyd

Professor

kclloyd@ucdavis.edu

Area of Research:

Dr. Lloyd research emphasizes the application of mouse biology, genetics, stem cells, and reproductive physiology to address and resolve biological questions.

Su Hao Lo

Su Hao Lo

Professor

shlo@ucdavis.edu

Area of Research:

Overall research interests are to understand the molecular mechanisms that underlie the structure and function of focal adhesions. Focal adhesions are integrin-mediated junctions that attach a variety of different cell types to their underlying substratum.