Faculty / Staff


Photo: Blythe Jurewicz, DVM

Blythe Jurewicz, DVM - Chief of Service

Dr. Blythe Jurewicz earned her veterinary degree from UC Davis in 2005. After graduation, she went on to complete a rotating internship at East Bay Veterinary Specialists & Emergency. She then entered private practice as a general practitioner and emergency veterinarian. Dr. Jurewicz is a member of American Veterinary Medical Association, California Veterinary Medical Association, and Sacramento Valley Veterinary Medical Association. She joined the Community Practice Service in 2012.

Photo: Ilana Halperin, DVM, CVA

Ilana Halperin, DVM, CVA

Dr. Ilana Halperin earned her veterinary degree from UC Davis in 2003. After graduation, she completed a one-year rotating internship in veterinary internal medicine and surgery in Albuquerque, New Mexico. Dr. Halperin then spent the next 12 years as a general practitioner in California before joining UC Davis in 2016. In 2007, she became a Certified Veterinary Acupuncturist through the International Veterinary Acupuncture Society. Her interest in acupuncture came about after she received acupuncture for a knee injury and was impressed with the results. Realizing that this could be a wonderful addition to her practice of veterinary medicine, she pursued the training through IVAS. Since that time, she has been happy to see positive results in her patients using acupuncture to treat such conditions as arthritis, back pain, allergies, and inflammatory bowel disease.

Photo: Daniel Hershberger, DVM

Daniel Hershberger, DVM

Dr. Daniel Hershberger received his veterinary degree from UC Davis in 1981. He then worked at the Veterinary Emergency Clinic, Pet Emergency Treatment Service and Campus Veterinary Clinic as a veterinarian from 1981-1985. Dr. Hershberger served as partner and chief medical officer at All Pets Hospital in San Francisco since 1985, before joining the UC Davis team in 2017.


Melissa Cavazos, MS, RVT-Manager

Cristin Dietrich, RVT

Jessica Fraser - Technical Scheduler

Danielle Randall, RVT-Supervisor

Amiel Sagpao, RVT

Sarah Sanders, RVT

Lisa Sullivan