J.D. Wheat Veterinary Orthopedic Research Laboratory

Fracture Biology

We are investigating the influence of hypoxia on stem cell migration including trafficking of mesenchymal stem cells to regions of hypoxia. This work has implications for understanding the fracture healing environment in bone, since cells at a fracture site are exposed to significant hypoxia due to the disruption of the vasculature. 

Photo: Fracture Biology image

Publications

Raheja, L.F., Genetos, D.C. and Yellowley, C.E. (2008) Hypoxic osteocytes recruit human MSCs through an OPN/CD44-mediated pathway. Biochemical and Biophysical Research Communications Feb 22;366(4):1061-6.

Contact Information

Faculty

Dr. Clare Yellowley
cyellowley@ucdavis.edu

Graduate Students

Chrisoula Toupadakis
catoupadakis@ucdavis.edu

Leah Forquer-Raheja
lfraheja@ucdavis.edu

Jessica Morgan
jmmorgan@ucdavis.edu

Postdoctoral Researchers

Damian Genetos
dgenetos@ucdavis.edu

Research Staff

Alice Wong
awong@ucdavis.edu