Current News

Dr. Stephen McSorley Elected Fellow in the American Academy of Microbiology

What's New Image

Dr. Stephen McSorley - AAM Fellowship honor

The School of Veterinary Medicine is pleased to announce the election of Dr. Stephen McSorley as a Fellow in the American Academy of Microbiology (AAM). Dr. McSorley was recognized for his excellence, originality and leadership in the microbiological sciences.

Dr. McSorley’s research program applies cutting edge immunological tools to study bacterial infection. His research creates a unique bridge between the bacterial pathogenesis field and the field of immunology by incorporating the complexity of the pathogens' biology with state-of-the-art analysis of adaptive immune responses. This research is innovative, timely and important for improving the understanding of prevalent diseases.

Dr. McSorley received his Ph.D. from the University of Glasgow, Scotland, and completed post-doctoral fellowships at the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique - Institut de Pharmacologie Moleculaire et Cellulaire, Valbonne, France, and the University of Minnesota. He served on the faculty at the University of Connecticut and University of Minnesota before joining the UC Davis team in 2011. He is currently a Professor in the Center for Comparative Medicine and Department of Anatomy, Physiology, and Cell Biology, where his research focuses on innate and adaptive immune responses to bacterial infection and the generation of new vaccines for salmonellosis and chlamydia infections.

“Election of Dr. McSorley as a Fellow of the AAM provides clear evidence that his research and educational contributions in microbiology are nationally and internationally recognized,” said Michael Lairmore, dean of the School of Veterinary Medicine. “We are very proud of his election and honored to have him as a member of our faculty.”

This high honor by the Academy is awarded to scientists for their record of scientific achievement and original contributions that have advanced microbiology. Over the last 50 years, 2,700 distinguished scientists have been elected to the Academy. Each Fellow has built an exemplary career in basic and applied research, teaching, clinical and public health, industry or government service. Election to Fellowship indicates recognition of distinction in microbiology by one’s peers. More than 200 Academy Fellows have been elected to the National Academy of Sciences, while many have also been honored with Nobel Prizes, Lasker Awards, and the National Medal of Science.

View the complete list of Fellows elected in 2015