Archived News

UC Davis School of Veterinary Medicine Honors Favorite Teachers, Scholars at Annual Awards Ceremony

May 18, 2000

Wednesday, May 17, 11:00 a.m.-1:00 p.m., the University of California, Davis, School of Veterinary Medicine recognized its most highly regarded teachers and student scholars at its Annual Awards Ceremony.

The top faculty honors included the Carl J. Norden Distinguished Teacher Award, awarded to Richard (Rick) LeCouteur, professor of neurology/neurosurgery, and the Pfizer Research Award, received this year by Alan R. Buckpitt, professor of toxicology.

For outstanding graduate research in epidemiology, the school recognized Chao-chin "Joe" Chang, DVM, as recipient of the Ray Bankowski Memorial Fellowship Award for his work on the infectious disease organism Bartonella.

The ceremony also highlighted 570 student scholarships amounting to approximately $745,000, including 24 new scholarships this year. Gifts to the school provide financial aid, academic recognition and career opportunities in animal-related health fields. Roughly 80% of the students in the 4-year Doctor of Veterinary Medicine degree program receive some form of financial aid.

Scholarships come from breed associations, kennel clubs, business sponsors, and individuals who love animals. School officials hosted an estimated 60 guests from around the state to meet award recipients at the ceremony, held at the Medical Sciences Complex on the Davis campus.

Bennie I. Osburn, dean, states, "We are so grateful to these generous individuals and groups who advance the cause of animal, human and environmental health by supporting veterinary education and encouraging a variety of veterinary careers."

Media Contact: Lynn Narlesky, Office of the Dean, (530) 752-5257