Archived News

June 20, 2005

Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor Virginia Hinshaw, Dean Bennie I. Osburn, and members of the faculty proudly presented the Class of 2005 when school officials conferred 127 Doctor of Veterinary Medicine (DVM) degrees at the 54th Commencement of the UC Davis School of Veterinary Medicine. The ceremony took place Friday, June 17 in Davis.

In recognition of outstanding academic achievement and clinical performance spanning the entire four-year program, John R. Pascoe, Executive Associate Dean, presented the 2005 School of Veterinary Medicine Medal to Natalie Mitescu. She is a student in the small animal medicine track and belongs to the Phi Zeta Veterinary Honor Society, a student organization that promotes scholarship and advancement of the veterinary profession. 


Classmates Daniel Famini and Kimberly Farina spoke on behalf of the senior class at the event.


Forty candidates received certificates for specialty residencies completed at the Veterinary Medical Teaching Hospital. Each resident has spent two to four years beyond the DVM degree in training for practice in such fields such as small animal medicine, emergency and critical care medicine, surgery, equine reproduction, dermatology, imaging or other veterinary specialties. Dr. Bradford Smith, director, explained that the teaching hospital hosts the largest veterinary residency program in the world. He stated, "These veterinarians act as the front-line clinicians in the hospital and spend many hours teaching fourth-year students. Residents are the core of tomorrow's academic and practice leaders."


The school awarded 17 certificates to candidates for the Master of Preventive Veterinary Medicine degree. Candidates have studied advanced courses in preparation to investigate and evaluate disease and production problems in animal populations. Preventive medicine specialists also design, evaluate and implement disease control or other veterinary services programs. These candidates receive their degrees upon completion of a thesis project. 

The school conferred six Bachelor of Science degrees to students continuing in the four-year DVM professional program. Applicants may be accepted into the program without a bachelor's degree as long as prerequisites and other admissions criteria are met.  


Dr. Maria Glowaski, a lecturer based in the Department of Surgical and Radiological Sciences, was the faculty speaker selected by the senior students.


Dean Osburn presented Alumni Achievement Awards to Drs. Eugene P. Steffey,  Russell R. Burton, and Bradley W. Fenwick. This award is the highest honor bestowed by the school. (see related story).


Dean Osburn also acknowledged faculty and took a moment to commend the more than 800 staff members who support the teaching, research and service programs of the school. About 300 staff employees work at the Veterinary Medical Teaching Hospital. 

Concluding the ceremony, Dr. Jon Klingborg, president of the California Veterinary Medical Association, led his newest colleagues in reciting the Veterinarian's Oath.


Currently, 488 students are enrolled in the Doctor of Veterinary Medicine (DVM) degree program. The program includes four years of academic course work combined with hands-on clinical skills training at the Veterinary Medical Teaching Hospital. 



Media contact: Lynn Narlesky, Senior Writer, (530) 752-5257