Archived News

Commencement 2006 Sends New Vets into Profession

June 19, 2006

CommencementProvost Virginia Hinshaw, Dean Bennie I. Osburn, and the faculty members of the School of Veterinary Medicine proudly presented the Class of 2006 at the school's 55th Commencement ceremony Friday, June 16, 2006. School officials conferred 122 Doctor of Veterinary Medicine degrees at the ceremony.

Dean Osburn recognized the School of Veterinary Medicine faculty and staff who guided the graduates on their educational journey and contributed to their success. He told the graduates, “ It has been our pleasure to teach you and work alongside you as we educate you for a career in the best and most rewarding profession. It is the most important thing we do.”

John R. Pascoe, executive associate dean, bestowed the 2006 School of Veterinary Medicine Medal on Sabrina Lynn Berry, a student in the small animal medicine track and a member of the Phi Zeta Veterinary Honor Society, for distinguished academic achievement and clinical performance throughout the four-year program.

Brian Evans and Katherine Giles, both in the small animal track, spoke on behalf of their class.

Thirty-six residents received certificates for training completed at the Veterinary Medical Teaching Hospital. The school awarded 22 certificates to candidates completing the Master of Preventive Veterinary Medicine degree. Seven Bachelor of Science degrees went to students continuing in the DVM program.

CommencementThirty-one graduates wore the medal of the national Phi Zeta Veterinary Honor Society, a student organization that promotes scholarship and advancement of the profession.

The class chose Rance LeFebvre, Department of Pathology, Microbiology and Immunology, as the faculty speaker. In his address, “Ties That Bind,” he said that the unique personality and character of the Class of 2006 was reflected in their passion and unrelenting commitment to fulfilling a lifelong dream. He said, “You are the best class to ever graduate from UC Davis, which is the best veterinary school in the world. [It follows that] you are the best graduating class in the world!”

Dean Osburn presented Alumni Achievement awards, the school's highest honor, to John Pascoe, Marguerite Pappaioanou, and James Moore. (See related article)

The dean recognized 11 fellows of the Donald G. Low fellowship program, a continuing education program for practicing veterinarians. The school community also said goodbye to retiring faculty members: George Cooper, Benjamin Hart, Steve Haskins, Susan Hildebrand, William Lasley, Charles Plopper, Quinton Rogers, Henry Segall and Joseph Zinkl.

Eric Weigand, DVM, president of the California Veterinary Medical Association, concluded the ceremony by leading his newest colleagues in reciting the Veterinarian's Oath.

Watch the 2006 Commencement video

Media contact:
Lynn Narlesky, Office of the Dean