Archived News

Awards Ceremony 

May 14, 2008

May 14, 2008—Sixty-five special guests met and applauded scholarship recipients today as the School of Veterinary Medicine celebrated its Annual Awards Ceremony. The donors, sponsors and school officials joined students and faculty in a noontime ceremony. Resident specialists and "favorite teachers" also received recognition.

"Our 2008 scholarship program includes 18 new awards amounting to $106,000 in additional funding this year, " stated Bennie Osburn, dean, as he introduced the program. "The school is deeply grateful for the generous support of our individual, association and corporate scholarship donors, who make the new and continuing awards presented today possible."

Dean Osburn remarked upon the completion of the Veterinary Medicine III A facility, and he gave a progress report on Veterinary Medicine III B. Most construction funding for this building, he said, will be included in the higher education bond act scheduled for the November 2008 ballot. (More about the long-range facilities plan)


The school’s endowed scholarship fund of $37 million provides about $1.7 million in 2008, which allows the school to disburse 650 scholarships throughout the year. A need-based campus grant program enhances the school's private scholarship program. Scholarship and grant programs combined have provided $2.6 million this year to defray educational expenses. Registration fees in 2007-2008 were $22,418 for first-year students.

Breed associations, kennel clubs and corporations provide sponsorship for scholarships to assist needy students, encourage specific career interests or recognize clinical proficiency. Some awards consider circumstances such as whether the student works while in school or lives in a particular area.

Many awards honor the memories of family members, alumni or special animal companions. For example, this year two new scholarships honor the memory Dr. Robert H. Baker, a member of the class of 1954 and  a recipient of the Alumni  Achievement Award in 1997. One of these scholarships goes to a student interested in large animal medicine; the other is co-sponsored by the American Association of Equine Practitioners.

What's New Image


The Student Chapter of the Veterinary Emergency and Critical Care Society has established a student -sponsored endowment at the school. Earnings on this gift will provide scholarships year after year for students with a professional interest in emergency medicine and critical care. A team of faculty and staff from the Emergency and Critical Care Service selected Kendon Kuo, Class of 2010, as the first recipient.

"We are the first club to fund this type of donation," said Kristi Peterson, a member of the class of 2009 and co-president of the chapter. She credited faculty adviser Karl Jandrey as an inspiration for the gesture. He and faculty member Michael Kent established an endowed scholarship in 2006.


Three dozen awards spotlighted clinical skills with large animals and small species as well as student and resident proficiency in surgery, pathology, oncology and other veterinary disciplines.

Dean Osburn announced that 41 students would participate this summer in the Students Training in Advanced Research program.

Professor Fern Tablin announced the selection of five new fellows in the Veterinary Scientist Training Program for the coming year. These students pursue PhD degrees along with their DVM studies. The support for this program provides tangible encouragement for careers at research institutions and veterinary schools. (See related story)

Students from each class year concluded the ceremony by naming their favorite teachers for 2007-2008.

Help a student help animals. 

Contact the Office of Development, (530) 752-7024,,