Archived News

Commencement 2010

June 11, 2010

What's New Image

June 11, 2010

At the recommendation of Peter Pascoe, chair of the veterinary faculty, UC Davis Provost Enrique Lavernia conferred 128 Doctor of Veterinary Medicine degrees and congratulated the class of 2010 at the UC Davis School of Veterinary Medicine commencement June 11.

The school honored 22 candidates of the Master of Preventive Veterinary Medicine degree program, conferred eight Bachelor of Science degrees and recognized 34 residents of the William R. Pritchard Veterinary Medical Teaching Hospital. The event took place at the Mondavi Center for the Performing Arts on the Davis campus.

The School of Veterinary Medicine Medal went to Kenneth Tomo Wiggans for demonstrating the highest level of academic achievement and clinical performance throughout veterinary school.
Graduates Kendon Kuo and John Wesson spoke to their peers, providing reminiscences and advice to their classmates as well as thanks to the faculty.

The faculty speaker, selected by students, was veterinary ophthalmologist Steven Hollingsworth. 

The school community said farewell to retiring faculty members James Case, Lynette Corbeil, Sharon Hietala and Robert Higgins (see related story).

Mark Nuñez, president of the California Veterinary Medical Association and a UC Davis DVM alumnus, led the graduates in a recitation of the Veterinarian's Oath.

Find out how you can support veterinary education at