Karen C. Drayer Wildlife Health Center

The Wildlife Health Center Team

Dr. Jonna A.K. Mazet, the Center's director, refines and develops the programs of the WHC and serves as an advocate for the Center and its faculty.

Administrative Staff

The WHC Administrative Team is led by Matt Blake and includes Lavonne Hull, Business Services Officer; Courtney Chambers, Lori Faherty, and Liz Leasure provide support to the Center's teaching activities and development as well as general administration of the Center's programs. Paulina Zielinska is Executive Assistant to the Director. Amanda Mahler is the Development/Program Assistant.

Program Personnel

PREDICT has Jonna Mazet as Principal Investigator, assisted by Paulina Zielinska, and includes David Bunn, Tracey Goldstein, Chris Johnson, Terra Kelly, Woutrina Miller, Dan Rejmanek, Joe Silva, Brett Smith, Lisa Stevenson, Kate Thomas, Liz Vanwormer and David Wolking as UC Davis personnel.

Gorilla Doctors is directed by Kirsten Gilardi and Michael Cranfield.

The Oiled Wildlife Care Network team includes Director Michael Ziccardi, Response Veterinarian Christine Fiorello, Volunteer and Outreach Coordinator Becky Elias, Recovery and Transportation Specialist Kyra Parker, Animal Care Specialist Emily Whitmer, and Facility Coordinator Tim Williamson.

The SeaDoc Society is directed by Kirsten Gilardi with Joe Gaydos, community scientist, Joe Thoron, Communications Officer, and Jean Spalti in administration, based in Washington State. Ignacio Vilchis is a postdoctoral fellow with SeaDoc. The Lost Fishing Gear Project is also run by Kirsten Gilardi with Jen Renzullo.

Avian Influenza Surveillance falls under the direction of Walter Boyce.

The Marine Ecosystem Health Diagnostic and Surveillance Laboratory is run by Tracey Goldstein with help from Brett Smith.

The Southern California Puma Project is directed by Walter Boyce; regional staff are led by Winston Vickers.

HALI (Health and Livelihood Improvement) works at the intersection of wildlife, livestock and human health in Tanzania. Diseases of animal origin are expected to increase as climate change and other drivers put pressure on scarce resources for humans and animals. HALI employs a number of Tanzanians and supports two UC Davis postdocs and one grad student in the field, all working together to discover and prevent disease. HALI is directed by Jonna Mazet and includes Liz Vanwormer (currently residing in Tanzania), Woutrina Miller and David Wolking.

The Zoological Medicine program, led by Ray Wack, provides veterinary services to the Sacramento Zoo, with training of veterinary students and zoological medicine residents. Dr. Wack is assisted by Dr. Anne Burgdorf.

Boyce, Walter (530) 752-1401; wmboyce@ucdavis.edu
Brosnan, Deborah dbrosnan@ucdavis.edu
Bunn, David (530) 752-3122; dabunn@ucdavis.edu
Button, Cynthia cabutton@ucdavis.edu
Chambers, Courtney (530) 752-7526; ccchambers@ucdavis.edu 
Clifford, Deana dlclifford@ucdavis.edu 
Cranfield, Mike (410) 917-7666; cranfield_mike@gmail.com
Elias, Becky (530) 752-5603; baelias@ucdavis.edu  
Faherty, Lori (530) 752-4167 ljstockbridge@ucdavis.edu
Fiorello, Chris (530) 752-1218; cvfiorello@ucdavis.edu
Gaydos, Joe (360) 376-3910; jkgaydos@ucdavis.edu
Gilardi, Kirsten (530) 752-4896; kvgilardi@ucdavis.edu
Goldstein, Tracey (530) 754-7953; tgoldstein@ucdavis.edu
Hull, Lavonne (530) 752-3854; lwhull@ucdavis.edu
Jessup, Dave; wdamanager@gmail.com
Johnson, Christine (530) 752-1238; ckreuder@ucdavis.edu
Kelly, Terra (530) 574-5093; trkelly@ucdavis.edu
Kent, Alison (530) 752-3809; alkent@ucdavis.edu 
Leasure, Liz ealeasure@ucdavis.edu
Mazet, Jonna (530) 754-9035; jkmazet@ucdavis.edu
Miller, Woutrina (530) 754-0119; wamiller@ucdavis.edu
Parker, Kyra (530) 752-5797; kyparker@ucdavis.edu
Rejmanek, Dan (530)752-2472 drejmanek@ucdavis.edu
Renzullo, Jennifer jrenzullo@ucdavis.edu
Rogers-Bennett, Laura rogersbennett@ucdavis.edu
Smith, Brett brsmith@ucdavis.edu
Spalti, Jean jmspalti@ucdavis.edu
Stevenson, Lisa (530) 752-1396; lhstevenson@ucdavis.edu
Thomas, Kate (530) 752-2963; ktthomas@ucdavis.edu
Vanwormer, Liz evanwormer@ucdavis.edu
Vickers, Winston (949) 929-8643; twvickers@ucdavis.edu
Wack, Ray (916) 808-8808; rfwack@ucdavis.edu
Whitmer, Emily (530) 752-5603; erwhitmer@ucdavis.edu
Williamson, Tim (530) 979-7630 twwilliamson@ucdavis.edu
Wolking, David djwolking@ucdavis.edu
Ziccardi, Mike (530) 754-5701; mhziccardi@ucdavis.edu