UC Davis Equine Surgery Resident Wins National Award

professor giving award to resident
Professor Julie Dechant (right), director of the equine surgery residency program, presents the 2023 American Association of Veterinary Clinicians Resident Achievement Award to Dr. Tom Bergstrom (left).

UC Davis Equine Surgery Resident Wins National Award

Equine surgery resident Dr. Tom Bergstrom was recently awarded the 2023 American Association of Veterinary Clinicians (AAVC) Resident Achievement Award. The recognition is given annually to a resident in their final year of training who has achieved a high degree of excellence in their chosen specialty.

group of UC Davis equine veterinarians
Members of the UC Davis equine surgery and radiology teams congratulate Dr. Tom Bergstrom on his resident award. Pictured are (l-r): Drs. Scott Katzman, Larry Galuppo, Tom Bergstrom, Julie Dechant, Mathieu Spriet, and Cailey Nichols.

In nominating candidates, faculty mentors take into consideration activities, awards, and productivity of the resident during their training process.

“Dr. Bergstrom’s experience has provided diverse exposure to different types of clients, clinical environments, and veterinary challenges in equine practice,” stated the faculty in their nomination. “He has been able to share that experience with students and residents, and he is well-versed in how to manage different clinical situations and varying client expectations, with empathy for referring veterinarians, owners, and patients alike. Dr. Bergstrom has achieved a standard of excellence in all attributes desired of a resident in a clinical training program. He has made a strong and durable impact on the success and reputation of the Equine Surgery Service and residency training program at UC Davis.”

Items for consideration include the nominee’s sustained excellence in clinical service (including performance evaluations and any service awards won), clinical teaching (including student teaching evaluations), client communications (including positive follow-up correspondence to the nominee or hospital), and research (including accepted publications).

Dr. Bergstrom is one of 133 house officers (residents, fellows, interns) at the UC Davis veterinary hospital. With the largest post-graduate training program in the nation, UC Davis faculty offer veterinarians advanced clinical experience and mentorship in 39 specialty disciplines. Upon completion of his residency, Dr. Bergstrom will qualify to complete extensive examinations to become a board-certified surgeon.

The AAVC was established in 1958 to enhance the quality of veterinary instruction and advocate for veterinary clinical teaching, service, and research. AAVC members are veterinary clinicians engaged in teaching and/or research at the professional, graduate, or postgraduate level at veterinary colleges in the United States and Canada.

Dr. Bergstrom is the seventh UC Davis resident to win the award since its inception in 1998.

#   #   #

Primary Category