Katherine Watson

Assistant Professor

California Animal Health and Food Safety Lab
Pathology, Microbiology & Immunology

Diplomate, American College of Veterinary Pathologists
2016, DVM, University of California, Davis, CA
2014, PhD, University of California, Davis, CA
2005, BS, University of California, Davis, CA
Honors and Awards
2004 President's Undergraduate Fellowship (PUF)
2009 World Molecular Imaging Conference Travel Award ($350)
2009 Veterinary Scientist Training Program (VSTP): Full fee remission and stipend for veterinary school
2010 Young Investigator Award at the MR-guided Focused Ultrasound 2010 2nd International Symposium
2010 Howard Hughes Medical Institute Integrating Medicine into Basic Science (HHMI IMBS), T32 Cardivascular Training Fellowship ($30,267)
2010 Poster award at the Molecular, Cellular and Integrative Physiology Graduate Group Fall Colloquium
2011 T32 Cardiovascular Training Fellowship ($27,050)
2012 Irving J. Hertzendorf Memorial Award in Physiology
2013 Excellence in Student Training in Advance Research (STAR) award
2014 AVMA/AVMF Summer Scholars Award
2014 Loren D. Carlson Prize in Physiology: Superior scholarly achievement and promise for teaching and research
2014 Max Kleiber award: Most outstanding dissertation in the areas of nutrition and metabolism
2014 Grand Prize Winner of the Veterinary Innovation Challenge (VIC) at the University of Pennsylvania
2015 Mortui Vivos Docent Pathology Scholarship
2015 American College of Veterinary Pathologists Externship Scholarship
2016 Class of 1959 Endowed Scholarship
2016 Dr. Paola V. Mohlere Memorial Endowed Scholardship - Large Animal
2016 Boehringer Ingelheim Vetmedical Inc. Food Animal Clinical Proficiency Award
2016 American College of Veterinary Radiology Excellence in Clinical Radiology Award
2016 Florence Hutt and Benjamin Frank Edwards Award for Cancer Research
2016 California Veterinary Medical Association Lifelong Learning Award
2016 California Veterinary Medical Association Award for Practice Excellence
2019 Donald L. Dungworth Graduate Student Travel Award given to individuals whose thesis work advances comparative pathology.