Dr. Candice Price Awarded a 2021-22 Chancellor's Fellowship for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion

Awards Banner

Dr. Candice Price Awarded a 2021-22 Chancellor's Fellowship for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion

Adapted from UC Davis Dateline

Dr. Candice Price is one of five UC Davis faculty members selected for a 2021-22 Chancellor’s Fellowship for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion. In the second year of this program, Chancellor Gary S. May and academic leadership selected five fellows, four from the Academic Senate and one from the Academic Federation. Each fellow has received $5,000 in academic enrichment funds.

Eligibility extends to any Academic Senate or Academic Federation member from any UC Davis school or college, across all disciplines, at all levels, who have demonstrated a significant track record of abiding commitment to reducing opportunity gaps for underrepresented students and/or students from underserved communities. Eligible faculty will have spent substantial time in recruitment, academic progress and/or retention efforts. 

Price serves as an assistant adjunct professor in the Department of Molecular Biosciences, School of Veterinary Medicine. She is recognized for major contributions to address the diversity, equity and inclusion deficiencies that have chronically persisted in biomedical research. Her research on consumption of sugar-sweetened beverages has demonstrated differences in risk factors associated with insulin resistance and cardiovascular disease. She helped discover the mechanisms of cardiometabolic disease development and has addressed the health disparities linked to added sugar consumption and psychosocial factors in African American women. Price has also been dedicated in increasing the recruitment and retention of individuals from underrepresented minorities and disadvantaged backgrounds in biomedical careers by providing mentorship and research opportunities.

“I congratulate the recipients on their recognition and thank them for their exceptional efforts,” said Richard Tucker, chair of the Academic Senate. “They have made, and continue to make, UC Davis a more inclusive learning environment.”

Read more about the other recipients here.

Primary Category