Dermatologist Dr. Catherine Outerbridge Wins National Award

aavd logo

Dermatologist Dr. Catherine Outerbridge Wins National Award

Dr. Outerbridge with award
Dr. Catherine Outerbridge with the 2023 AAVD Kral Award.

The American Academy of Veterinary Dermatology (AAVD) awarded the prestigious Kral Award to UC Davis dermatologist Dr. Catherine Outerbridge at its recent Annual Business Meeting. A professor in the UC Davis School of Veterinary Medicine’s Department of Medicine & Epidemiology, Dr. Outerbridge also serves as a clinician in the Dermatology Service at the school’s Veterinary Medical Teaching Hospital. She is double board certified in internal medicine and dermatology and has mentored more than 20 residents throughout her career.

In nominating Dr. Outerbridge for the Kral Award, her colleagues described her as a highly regarded instructor whose profound knowledge of dermatology, as well as her enthusiasm for her career, are evident in her daily activities.

Dr. Outerbridge’s research focus is in clinical dermatology of all species, cutaneous manifestations of systemic disease, metabolic skin diseases, infectious skin and ear diseases and antimicrobial therapy, and feline genodermatoses. Dr. Outerbridge has continuously received research grants from the school’s Center for Companion Animal Health.

The Frank Kral Award is named for one of the founding members of AAVD and its first president. In 1971, Kral was elected the AAVD’s first Life Member and received the first AAVD Dermatology Achievement Award in 1973. That award was later renamed in his honor in 2012.

Selection criteria for the award includes:
•    Having an outstanding career in veterinary medicine and the specialty of veterinary dermatology with national and international recognition for one’s contributions. Selection is based on the life career of the nominee rather than on a single activity or incident.
•    Sustained (15 or more years) service as a veterinarian in such activities as clinical medical practice, instruction, research and/or public service.
•    Production of major published works and/or development of significant diagnostic, therapeutic or control techniques and/or procedures.
•    Contributions to veterinary organizations.

Previously, the Kral Award was won by UC Davis’ Dr. Stephen White in 2020 and Dr. Peter Ihrke in 2013.

Primary Category