Our Team - Contact

Our Team - Contact

Office for Academic Programs

UC Davis School of Veterinary Medicine
944 Garrod Drive
Davis CA. 95616-5270


Phone (530) 752-0335
Fax (530) 754-0131
Email csteam@ucdavis.edu


Academic Programs


Jan E. Ilkiw

Jan E. Ilkiw

Associate Dean for Academic Programs

Leads the unit that provides administration and support to the students, faculty and staff in the development, implementation, delivery and evaluation of the Doctor of Veterinary Medicine (DVM) curriculum, and oversees teaching facilities and staff and curricular computer support applications.

Telephone - (530) 219-2124  /  Email - jeilkiw@ucdavis.edu

Joie Watson

Joie Watson

Associate Dean for Professional Education

Manages the professional DVM Curriculum by providing administrative support to the students, faculty, and staff for development, delivery, evaluation, and modification of the curriculum, as well as oversight of teaching facilities and equipment, and educational computing support.

Telephone - (530) 902-1058  /  Email - jlwatson@ucdavis.edu

Karen Boudreaux

Karen Boudreaux

Responsible for all educational surveys, including those required by accreditation, oversees learning outcomes for all VET and DVM courses, works with faculty on educational methodologies and technologies, provides support for VET400 and, with faculty, oversees the Educational & leadership DVM rotation (DVM447).

Telephone - (337) 316-7122  /  Email - kaboudreaux@ucdavis.edu

Amanda Steidlmayer

Amanda Steidlmayer

DVM Program Manager

Oversees the administrative, fiscal, personnel and student affairs functions of the DVM academic and student programs.

Telephone - (530) 754-0132  /  Email - arsteidlmayer@ucdavis.edu 

Maribel Morales

Maribel Morales

DVM Program Financial Officer

Coordinates all business functions and financial accounts for the DVM academic and student programs, including scholarships.

Email - morales@ucdavis.edu

 


Curricular Support


Mike Beech

Mike Beech

Valley Hall Facility Manager

Provides audio-visual support for all SVM teaching facilities and serves as facility manager for the Gladys Valley Hall.

Email - mwbeech@ucdavis.edu

Melanie Burt-Schipke

Melanie Burt-Schipke

DVM Program Assistant

Serves as staff liaison to DVM students, provides administrative and business support for the programs and manages scheduling for the Associate Dean of Professional Education.

Telephone - (530) 754-1539   /  Email - maburt@ucdavis.edu

Jessica Gamache

Jessica Gamache

Instructional Resources Coordinator

Coordinates grading and instructional resources (course websites, textbook and library reserve requests, technological resources). Staff liaison regarding student disability accommodations.


Telephone - (530) 752-8084  /  Email -  jgamache@ucdavis.edu

Cindy Griffith

Cindy Griffith

DVM Curriculum Manager

Schedules all curriculum for the program and provides administrative support to the Curriculum Committee.

 

Telephone - (530) 752-6604  /  Email - cgriffith@ucdavis.edu

 

Linda Souza

Linda Souza

DVM Exam Manager

Coordinates student externships and academic emphases, serves as staff liaison to the UCD Office of the Registrar, coordinates DVM exams, and provides administrative support to the Student Affairs Committee.

 

Telephone - (530) 752-9009   /  Email - lmsouza@ucdavis.edu

 


Multipurpose Teaching


Tim Samartino

Tim Samartino

MPT Facility Manager

Provides technical support for all teaching activities in MPT, including equipment maintenance, ordering supplies, setting up and taking down laboratories and computer and audio-visual assistance.

Telephone - (530) 754-0139   /  Email - tsamartino@ucdavis.edu 

 

Candace Aguilar

Candace Aguilar

Clinical Skills Laboratory Technician

Telephone - (530) 752-1325   /  Email - cmaguilar@ucdavis.edu

 

 


Anatomy


Pam Heffley

Pam Heffley

Anatomy Technician

Lab safety officer, coordinator for student-run wet labs and the primary contact for tours in the Anatomy space. She also facilitates plastination for the lab. Technical coordinator for the following blocks: VET409, VET432, VET434, VET435, VET436, VET437

Telephone - (530) 754-0137 or (530) 302-7146   /  Email - pcheffley@ucdavis.edu

Marty Ynostroza

Marty Ynostroza

Anatomy Technician

Specializes in gross anatomy dissections. Technical support for the following blocks: VET401, VET403, VET405, VET410

Telephone - (530) 754-0134   /  Email - mynostroza@ucdavis.edu


Gourley Clinical Teaching Center

Lane Johnson

Lane Johnson

Staff Veterinarian

Oversees the use of animals in the curriculum with responsibility for IACUC protocols, medical care and medical records for all animals housed in the Gourley Clinical Teaching Center (GCTC). He is an instructor in VET431 (Surgery and Anesthesia Stream) where he is responsible for pre-operative assessment and post-operative care. He oversees the Clinical Skills Laboratory and, together with an RVT, develops new teaching models and modules to improve students’ entry-level skills.

Telephone - (530) 220-0627 (cell)   /  Email - lwjohnson@ucdavis.edu

Robin Stilwell

Robin Stilwell

RVT - Facility Manager

Oversees the RVTs and students employed in the GCTC to support the teaching program. As facility manager, she supervises and monitors all operational activities, ensuring compliance with NIH, the Animal Welfare Act and Public Health Services Act, and Association for Assessment and Accreditation of Laboratory Animal Care International (AAALAC) guidelines. She is responsible for ensuring that resources, including animals and supplies, are available for all teaching sessions conducted within the GCTC and works with the GCTC veterinarian as the liaison between the SVM and local animal shelters, rescue groups, veterinarians and other campus units.

Telephone - (530) 752-7587 or (530) 304-2259 (cell)   /  Email - rniemi@ucdavis.edu 

Tatiana Taylor

Tatiana Taylor

Senior Animal Technician, Supervisor

Supervisory oversight of Animal Technicians and colony animals; Coordinator of shelter surgery program.

Telephone - (530) 219-3455   /  Email - tplitt@ucdavis.edu